Noddi

70's sailboat built to sail around the world

Maurice Amiet plan

Well known in the 1960's for its boat design as modern as it is economicallike the Faramans, the Kaïpans or the Amphitrites, Maurice Amiet is also the author of classic yachts designed for both offshore cruising and racing.

Originally from the Mediterranean coast, his personal itinerary was divided between creation, research on hulls, sea trials and navigation. His passion quickly turned to the round-the-world sailboat. The navigations of some of his creations, including Clé de Sol and Chimère, are told in Bateaux de l’Aventure. This led to his particular interest in hulls with live chines, which according to him were an extraordinary field of experimentation and a good way to fit into the budget of impecunious sailors who wanted to go far.

Our sailboat, Noddi, has therefore benefited from the talent of this atypical architect and still does today, despite his age, a proud look.

The story

It is thus on the basis of a Maurice Amiet plan that Mr. Cuilleret, builder of Noddiis based.

Alumni of theÉcole Centrale de Lyon, engineer He had already worked on two smaller boats. The construction took place in 3 stages and lasted 2 years.

First of all, the male mold of the hull was made of wood thanks to a remarkable carpentry work .The hull was then laminated from the inside out by layering up to 7 layers of fiberglass mat for the most sensitive areas (junction with the keel for example). The various reinforcements could be added after demolding to form a solid base.

After turning the set upside down, the bridge was installed on the same principle using a male mold to follow the different shapes given by the architect. Note that once again, the most sensitive areas such as the junction between the deck and the hull, which also supports the cargo rail, were reinforced with molded exotic woods.

Finally, the interior layout could be realized according to the owner's desires. There is a cabin in the front triangle, separated from the saloon by the toilet and a cupboard. The saloon, rather spacious for a ketch, is of classic configuration with its chart table and its kitchen area. At the back of the cockpit is the aft cabin with two single berths.

The whole thing was still " as it was " when we took possession of the boat but was solid.

An amateur construction

October 2019, we are in the process of organizing a thank you meal for the partners who supported us in the preparation of our training sail in Corsica on board a J80.

J80 utilisé par Jybe en Corse

Sailboat " J80 " used for the crossing from Toulon to Sardinia

Émilien then receives a phone call from Françoise Perrin who has been accompanying Jybe since his debut at l’École Centrale de Marseille. She has just learned that a distant uncle wishes to part with his old sailboat but can't because potential buyers shy away from an amateur construction. Françoise makes us understand that we could become the owner at a lower cost. To be sure, I make a phone call, and there, surprise!

After discussing the project of Jybe and Noddi, we agree that if the boat is suitable for us it will be ceded to the association for a symbolic 1€. A quick visit to the Port des Lecques the next day will confirm it, Jybe has a sailboat!

Restore Noddi to its original strengths

Renovations undertaken

Renovation of mattresses

The refurbishment of all the mattresses was an important topic during the ...

Read More back-arrow

Repair of Noddi's exterior boxes

The coffers of the cockpit of the Noddi were in very bad condition. The doors were rotting...

Read More back-arrow

Replacement of hull passages

A quick look at the through-hulls shows us that they need to be replaced. Most of the valves ...

Read More back-arrow

Repair of the motor shaft

Faced with a very high rolling noise on the engine shaft line during operation, ...

Read More back-arrow

Infiltrations by the stanchions

A few water infiltrations behind the back drawers put us on the alert. The ...

Read More back-arrow

Refreshing of the cabin linings

After the donation of this sailboat, the interior of Noddi was left "as is". Covers ...

Read More back-arrow
Load More No more items to show
Be informed of our news!
We will keep you informed by email of our progress in the expedition. We promise not to inundate you with emails
Be informed of our news!
We will keep you informed by email of our progress in the expedition. We promise not to inundate you with emails

Noddi

Voilier des années 70 construit pour faire le tour du monde

Plan Maurice Amiet

Bien connu dans les années 1960 pour ses bateaux de conception aussi moderne qu’économique, comme les Faramans, les Kaïpans ou les Amphitrites, Maurice Amiet est aussi l’auteur de yachts classiques destinés tant à la croisière au large qu’à la course.

Originaire du littoral méditerranéen, son itinéraire personnel s’est partagé entre la création, la recherche sur les carènes, les essais en mer et la navigation. Sa passion s’est vite tournée vers le voilier de tour du monde. Les navigations de certaines de ses créations, dont Clé de Sol et Chimère, sont d’ailleurs racontées dans Bateaux de l’Aventure. En résulte son intérêt particulier pour les carènes à bouchain vif, qui selon lui, sont alors un champ d’expérimentation extraordinaire et un bon moyen de rentrer dans le budget des marins impécunieux qui veulent aller loin.

Notre voilier, Noddi, a donc bénéficié du talent de cet architecte atypique et revêt toujours aujourd’hui, et ce malgré son âge, une fière allure.

L’histoire

C’est donc sur la base d’un plan Maurice Amiet que M. Cuilleret, constructeur de Noddi, s’est basé.

Ancien de l’École Centrale de Lyon, ingénieur de métier, il avait alors déjà essuyé ses plâtres sur deux bateaux aux dimensions plus modestes. La construction s’est déroulée en 3 étapes et a duré 2 ans.

En premier lieu, le moule mâle de la coque a été construit en bois grâce à un travail de charpente remarquable. La coque a ensuite été stratifiée de l’intérieur vers l’extérieur en superposant jusqu’à 7 couches de mat de fibre de verre pour les zones les plus sensibles (jonction avec la quille par exemple). Les différents renforts ont pu être rajoutés après le démoulage pour former une base solide.

Après avoir retourné l’ensemble, le pont a été posé sur le même principe en s’appuyant sur un moule mâle pour suivre les différentes formes données par l’architecte. À noter qu’encore une fois, les zones les plus sensibles telles que la jonction entre le pont et la coque, qui supporte aussi à l’occasion le rail de fargue, ont été renforcées à l’aide de bois exotiques moulés.

Enfin, l’aménagement intérieur a pu être réalisé selon les envies du propriétaire. On retrouve donc une cabine dans le triangle avant, séparé du carré par les WC et un placard. Le carré, plutôt spacieux pour un ketch, est de configuration classique avec sa table à carte et son coin cuisine. À l’arrière du cockpit on retrouve la cabine arrière composée de deux couchettes simples.

L’ensemble était resté « dans son jus » quand nous avons pris possession du bateau mais respirait la solidité.

Une construction amateur

Octobre 2019, nous sommes en train d’organiser un repas de remerciements pour les partenaires qui nous ont soutenus dans la préparation de notre navigation d’entraînement en Corse à bord d’un J80.

J80 utilisé par Jybe en Corse

Voilier « J80 » utilisé pour la traversée depuis Toulon jusqu’en Sardaigne

Émilien reçoit alors un coup de fil de Françoise Perrin qui accompagne Jybe depuis ses débuts à l’École Centrale de Marseille. Elle vient d’apprendre qu’un oncle éloigné souhaite se séparer de son vieux voilier mais n’y arrive pas car les acheteurs potentiels reculent devant une construction amateur. Françoise nous fait comprendre que nous pourrions peut-être en devenir propriétaire à moindre coût. Pour en avoir le cœur net, je passe un coup de fil, et là, surprise !

Après avoir discuté du projet de Jybe et de Noddi, nous convenons que si le bateau nous convient il sera cédé à l’association pour 1€ symbolique. Une rapide visite de dernier au Port des Lecques le lendemain nous le confirmera, Jybe a un voilier !

Rendre à Noddi ses atouts d’origine

Les rénovations entreprises

Rénovation des matelas

La remise en état de tous les matelas a constitué un sujet important lors de la ...

Lire plus back-arrow

Réparation des coffres extérieurs de Noddi

Les coffres du cockpit du Noddi étaient en très mauvais état. Les battants étaient en décomposition ...

Lire plus back-arrow

Remplacement des passes-coques

Un rapide examen des passe-coques nous fait comprendre que leur remplacement s’impose. La plupart des vannes ...

Lire plus back-arrow

Remise en état de l’arbre moteur

Confrontés à un bruit de roulement très important sur la ligne d’arbre du moteur durant le ...

Lire plus back-arrow

Infiltrations via les chandeliers

Quelques infiltrations d’eau dans le carré, derrière les équipés, nous mettent la puce à l’oreille. Les ...

Lire plus back-arrow

Rafraîchîssement des vaigrages

Après la donation de ce voilier, l’intérieur de Noddi était resté « dans son jus ». Des housses ...

Lire plus back-arrow
Charger plus Pas d'autre articles à afficher